GHG refers to gases in the atmosphere that contribute to the greenhouse effect by absorbing infrared radiation produced by solar warming of the earth's surface. The Kyoto Protocol defines seven greenhouse gases whose emissions should be reduced; which are carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, hydrofluorocarbons, perfluorocarbons, sulphur hexafluoride, and nitrogen trifluoride.